Stories of pirate treasure and ghost ships color the island's rich history. Originally called Island of the Turtle for the giant sea turtles which still lay their eggs here, Black's Island is home to giant egrets, eagles, osprey and the migrating, nearly extinct snow-white pelicans.
In the early 1700's pirates used the island and St. Joseph Bay as a safe haven from storms and to restock supplies for their voyages.
In the late 1830's, Captain Black, an English seaman, arrived to establish a trade route from England down the east coast of Florida, around the tip and into the Gulf. He made the island his home and became the first recorded owner of the island, which still bears his name. During the Civil War, Black became a blockade runner, supplying Confederate forces through Gulf ports. Rebel ruins endure today. In 1868, fearing the Union might confiscate the island, Black sold it to an unidentified lady. The Captain was last reported seen in the 1870's, however, a man named E.L. Black sold the island to a Mr. Conley in 1925.
There have been a series of owners over the years since then, until at last the island was gracefully transformed into the carefully preserved but sumptuous tropical getaway it is today. When the current proprietors chanced upon Black's Island, they fell immediately and completely under its spell. They purchased the island in 2018 with the intent of sharing its beauty and seclusion with others -- opening it up as an intimate resort and event venue. The well-designed concept of 26 completely private bungalows connected by the "Queen's Walk" to an expansive, multi-level clubhouse provides an ideal blend of community and quietude; available for both private vacation rentals and group/corporate events.
A lot has changed since Captain Black's time, but the irresistible charm of the island is timeless.
Your host, Scott Seymour, can be reached at 678.776.3465